Home Page

About The Governing Body

Members of the Governing Body


The principle responsibilities of the Governing Body are to:


  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent


Effective governance is based on six key features. The first two features are the core pillars of the board’s role and purpose. The second two are about the way in which governance is organised and the final two are about ensuring and improving the quality of governance.


  • Strategic leadership that set and champions vision, ethos and strategy
  • Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance
  • People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity
  • Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities
  • Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements
  • Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance


We do not intervene in the day-to-day running of the school.  Our responsibilities are exercised in partnership with the Headteacher and the staff of the school. Governors help to appoint our staff and to build good relationships between the nursery, school, parents and our local community.  They do not need to be experts to tackle the ranges of responsibilities expected of them.  Help, advice and training are available from various sources.  We are always particularly keen to attract people with skills complementary to those found in school.

The Governing Body meets once a term for a business meeting and each of the main committees also meet once a term.

The main committees are as follows:
Admissions, Audit, Curriculum and Pupil Welfare, Finance, Personnel, Property and Review.

The Governing Body comprises:

5 Parent Governors (elected by the parents but appointed by the Trust members)
1 Authority Governor

8 Community Governors 

1 Ex Officio Governor (Headteacher) 
3 Staff Governors ( elected by teaching and non-teaching staff)

Governance Professional - Kirsty Digby.

Should you be interested in becoming a Governor or wish to learn more about the Governing body please do not hesitate to contact the office.


Any correspondence for the Governing Body needs to be addressed to Mr Keith Martin Chair of Governors, C/O Crosshall Infant School Academy Trust, 446 Great North Road, Eaton Ford, St Neots, PE19 7GG.